Paolo “Pol” Porro – Rhythm Guitar
Giorgio “Joe” Alberti – Drums
Gerardo “Jerry” De Feo – Vocals
Giorgio “Giò” Mina – Bass
Marco “Narcos” Colombo – Lead Guitar
Genre: Thrash Metal
Formed in: 2000
Status: Split Up
The project Ancient Dome was created in 2000 by Paul (Paolo Porro – Guitars), Cuzzo (Matteo Cuzzolin – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals) and Pech (Gabriele Borghi – Guitars). Syra (Salvatore Siragusano – Drums) joined the band the same year. At the beginning, the proposal was concentrated on classic heavy metal, until it finally came to the construction of a new sound based on the Bay Area Thrash.
The intent is to recreate the atmospheres of bands like Metallica, Megadeth, Heathen, Testament, Coroner, Artillery, Forbidden, Slayer, Exodus, Overkill and so on, mixing the thrash sound with melody and personality.
In 2004, before the recording of the first demo “Once Were Thrashers”, Pech decided to leave the band, being replaced by the actual lead guitarist Ale (Alessandro Fontana – Guitars).
In 2005 Ancient Dome recorded their self-titled EP, which obtained good responses from reviewers and (first of all) from metalheads, who started to follow and support the band.
In 2006/2007 the band began to play live continuously, supporting great realities from Italian underground movement.
In June 2007, Syra decided to quit the band, due to personal reasons, and now Joe (Giorgio Alberti – Drums) is behind the drum set.
In November 2007, Ancient Dome started the recording session for the debut album, entitled “Human Key”, out the 15th of January 2009 for the Italian independent label Punishment 18 Records. Also “Human Key” acquired lot of assents, and thanks to the successful distribution from P18R, the name starts to be known in the underground Italian thrash circuit (proudly inserted between the acts of the so called “New Wave Of Italian Thrash Metal”) and worldwide.
After an assiduous live activity, being opening act for thrash metal living legends like Artillery, Whiplash, Holy Moses and Heathen, the band released the successor of the debut album, entitled “Perception Of This World”, out the 28th of September 2010, again for Punishment 18 Records.
From February 2011, Ancient Dome changes its classic 4 pieces line up and Jerry (Gerardo De Feo – Vocals), from metal band Nameless Curse, is now our lead vocalist.
During October 2011, Cuzzo quits Ancient Dome in a friendly way, after more than 10 years spent playing together. White (Davide Bianchi – Bass Guitar) became the new bass player in January 2012.
The 1st of June 2012, the new cd “Hunting The M.I.L.F.” is finally out for DeathStorm Records, an Italian independent (and really underground) label; the cd features 2 new songs, along with the 2 re-recorded titletracks from the two previous full lengths (with Cuzzo still on bass), plus the 2004 demo and the 2005 EP, finally printed in a professional way.
After some gigs, it’s time for a new production, out the 20th of May 2013, this time in a 7″ format, a split with our friends Metalheadz always out for DeathStorm Records, entitled “Blast From The Future”; two new songs are presented, along with the introduction of the actual line up’s first official recording session.
The band entered the studio again in July 2013, to record the new full length “Cosmic Gateway To Infinity”, finally finished in January 2014. Back on stage in some of the great underground festivals in northern Italy and supporting bands like E-Force, the band officially release its third album the 27th of October 2014, once again for Punishment 18 Records.
During December 2014, White quits Ancient Dome; five months later Gio (Giorgio Mina – Bass) became the new bass player. The band recorded a new Ep, entitled “O.W.T. …and Still We Are”, out again for DeathStorm Records the 9th of October 2015, in order to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the first demo “Once Were Thrashers” and 15th anniversary of Ancient Dome.
In the end of 2015, also Ale quits Ancient Dome, after 10 years of music together, with Marco (Marco Colombo – Guitar) becoming the new lead guitar player; the actual line up is back on stage, while working on the new and fourth album, scheduled for 2017…
The making of their new and fourth album, recorded, mixed and mastered between January and April 2017, sees Ancient Dome again involved in the natural prosecution (both lirically and musically) of the “Human Key” saga, so a new concept album. “The Void Unending” is officially out the 26th of May 2017, again for Punishment 18 Records.
Since October 31st (trick or treat?), Anno Domini 2019, Ancient Dome no longer exists.
Once Were Thrashers (2004, Self released)
Bustock (2005, Self released)
Ancient Dome (2005, Self released)
Promo (2008, Self released)
Human Key (2009, Punishment 18 Records)
Perception Of This World (2010, Punishment 18 Records)
Hunting The M.I.L.F. (2012, DeathStorm Records)
Blast From The Future (2013, DeathStorm Records)
Cosmic Promo (2014, Self released)
Cosmic Gateway To Infinity (2014, Punishment 18 Records)
O.W.T. … and Still We Are (2015, DeathStorm Records)
The Void Unending (2017, Punishment 18 Records)